SEA Change
AAAS STEM Equity Achievement

SEA Change 101

What is SEA Change?

STEM Equity Achievement (SEA) Change is a bold new initiative from the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) effecting institutional transformation in support of diversity and inclusion, especially in colleges and universities.

Inspired by the self-assessment process used by Athena SWAN in the United Kingdom, SEA Change comprises:

SEA Change Institute

The Institute will offer:

  • a research repository — we ask members to be evidence-based and thoughtful, and the Institute helps self-assessment teams find the best available evidence

  • online and face-to-face training, from trainings to courses to convenings

Those in science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and medicine (STEM) understand the benefit of diversity. We also know that biases, including those within colleges and universities, have marginalized many different groups and denied opportunities in STEM. How do we untie ourselves from these practices? How do we give ourselves access to the full range of talent for STEM?

SEA Change Community

  • Colleges and universities, funders, business and industry, and other stakeholders committed to diversity

  • Convene online and face-to-face through Institute and Awards events

  • Share information, research, and best practices

  • Build partnerships and collaborations to nurture the talent pool for STEM

SEA Change Awards

A recognition system where colleges and universities, as well as their schools and departments, are acknowledged for their work on true institutional reform supporting diversity, equity, and inclusion.

The process, inspired by the Athena SWAN and Race Equality Charters in the UK, includes:

  • Voluntary self-assessment using criteria based on SEA Change Principles

  • Identification of barriers preventing inclusion and equity in STEM across institutions and departments

  • Developing an action plan to address barriers

  • Having action plans and progress independently assessed by a panel of experts to receive appropriate recognition

Institutions, schools, and departments can receive a Bronze, Silver, or Gold SEA Change Award. Award renewal or progression at least every five years ensures continued progression and reflects a firm commitment from the award holder.

Get Involved

Pilot: Institutional Bronze Award


Interested in joining the 2nd Wave Pilot cohort in 2019?

Next Webinar

SEA Change 101 - January 30, 2019 - 1:00 pm ET